My First Makeup Workshop by Anne Bismonte

Standard

I love the confidence that makeup gives me.” –Tyra Banks
That same quote applies to me. I must admit that I don’t really have a good skin. I have lots of pimple scars and still suffering from hyper pigmentation because of the treatment I am going through due to acne. But as of now, I am really trying so hard to find out my own skin care routine and improve my skin.

Even with this, I am still pretty sure that I can’t do away with makeup (maybe not now or soon). Since I am dealing with different people every day, I would like to always look presentable at work and school.

I been trying out different techniques in using makeup and also learn so many of those from Youtube and reading beauty blogs yet it seems that I want to have that first- hand knowledge that I can really  use for myself. One of my projects this year is to attend workshops that will help me gain the knowledge I actually missed out during my younger years. I really want to explore and know more especially about basic in makeup application.

I have my own share of makeup dilemmas. I been put to shame and ridiculed about how my foundation or eye shadow or blush on went beyond what others expect or just because it didn’t suit me well. Maybe I just grew tired of those and want to atleast cut off those embarrassing moments. That’s why I finally decided to join a basic make up workshop.

I read about an afternoon workshop from the page Makeup by Anne Bismonte. The slots immediately run out and I am lucky to catch the last slot. Finally! I was registered to Ms. Anne Bismonte’s workshop. Her credentials and portfolio in makeup artistry is enough for me to trust her knowledge on that particular aspect that I want to unfold. Nevertheless, I attended it.

The official poster of the workshop.

The official poster of the workshop.

I arrived early at the venue. I don’t actually intend to be early but I guess I was not able to contain my excitement about the workshop, plus the fact the venue happened to be nearer than I expected. It was a Saturday afternoon and there was no traffic (when I actually need it.lol!)

Nevertheless, the workshop went well. The atmosphere was comfortable. The speaker, Ms. Bismonte made some jokes in the middle of the discussion which makes everything light and easier. Everything that was written on the poster was covered. From the basic, the skin care routine to make up application. She also had a demo on how to apply a day and night make up just by changing the hue of the eye shadow.

The FREE Make up buffet

The FREE Make up buffet

Our pretty and young model

Our pretty and young model

Ms Anne Bismonte as she conduct a makeup demo

Ms. Anne Bismonte as she conduct a makeup demo

At the end of the workshop, we (the participants) had the application of all that we learn during that afternoon. And here was my before and after shot.

Before

Before

After

After

I know I need more practice especially with my eye makeup. But I have faith that with practice and perseverance I can achieve a good make up for myself.

My co-participants as they do their make up like a PRO!

My co-participants as they do their make up like a PRO!

What I personally love about the workshop was the first part which tackled about the skin care routine and familiarization of different kinds of makeup brushes. Since, I personally went there because I believe that I need to use make up to cover up my imperfections and to be more confident, I still consider the fact that I must go to Level  0… and that is how to take care of what’s beneath those layers of makeup. Also, knowing the purpose of each make up brush enlightens me on how I can actually maximize the use of it. Just like what I learned in journalism, “You cannot break the rules, unless you know them.”

Ms. Anne Bismonte as she talks about the use of different makeup brushes

Ms. Anne Bismonte as she talks about the use of different makeup brushes

And because I was early, I saw Ms. Anne Bismonte in other perspective. She was so hands on with the workshop. She was the one together with her husband prepared everything needed by the participants. She was really accommodating and very considerate with other participants who came a little bit late. We actually spend few minutes waiting for them, as she went around and trying to be familiar with the other participants. And that made me admire her more.

It was a very productive day for all of us! Another big check on my bucket list! Yey!

It was a very productive day for all of us! Another big check on my bucket list! Yey!

What I learn during the workshop will help me personally to be more confident about myself. It also give way for me, as a model to have a new skill that I can use during my photoshoots.

Our loot bags :)

Our loot bags 🙂

The very soft brush set from Beauty cosmetics is easy and convenient to use. I heard that it also have a very affordable price!

The very soft brush set from Beautycosmetics Brushes are easy and convenient to use. I heard that you can get it in a super affordable price! Yay! What a steal!

The earrings makes me go gaga over the loot bag. Yay! Wait for an OOTD with it!

The earrings makes me go gaga over the loot bag. Yay! Wait for an OOTD with it!

I am glad that now, I am atleast equipped with Makeup 101. Having that makes me feel more certain about my exploration when it regards to colors and blending, contouring, highlighting, shaping and experimenting with my very own canvass.

Woooh! A certificate! I feel so proud! <3

Woooh! A certificate! I feel so proud! ❤

How about you sweeties? What is that something that you really want to know more? Hope to read from you soon.

*Some pictures grabbed from the MUA’s FB page Makeup by Anne Bismonte. For make up gigs, collaborations and events you may contact her at the same page.

Leave a Reply

