37th Milo Marathon: My First Fun Run

Standard

Part of my breakthrough this year is to at least widen my scale when it comes to being fit. I am the kind of person that doesn’t become big as fast as the others. I’m petite. My body size is like of the ones in their pre-puberty stage. That’s why when I am introducing myself as a 23 year old lady the reaction I get is more of disbelief.

My older sister is otherwise. That’s why she is fonder of being sporty- going to the gym, having a regular exercise and joining fun runs. Last July, she booked in a nationwide fun run called as Milo Marathon. This year they are in their 37th run.  

I actually don’t have an idea why people are paying and joining fun runs when in fact they can just run around the village. That curiosity leads me to ask my sister to book a slot for me too. I want to see and experience the difference of joining a fun run.

I am a spoiled baby sister and my Ate Aby really fixed everything for me. From booking a slot, paying the reservation fee,  fixing my attire, everything! She was so glad that finally, I will join her in a marathon.

My attire. Ate fixed the singlet for me :) How sweet of her right?

My attire. Ate fixed the singlet for me 🙂 How sweet of her right?

The day came and the photos will tell you how it went for me and my siblings. I was with my older sister, Ate Aby and my younger brother, Mike at the event.

It is still dawn when we arrive at Mall of Asia grounds.

It is still dawn when we arrive at Mall of Asia grounds. I am joining the 5K race.

Our selfies before the event.

Our selfies before the event.

Ate Aby, intended to take a picture of me in every marker, yet I said no. I don't want people think that I just join the marathon for publicity and photo ops. Here, I already reached the 2nd kilometer :) Yeh!

Ate Aby, intended to take a picture of me in every marker, yet I said no. I don’t want people to think that I just join the marathon for publicity and photo ops.
Here, I already reached the 2nd kilometer 🙂 Yeah!

Look! I still manage to smile in the midst of the marathon. I feel great!

Look! I am still projecting at the midst of the marathon. I feel energetic!

Yay! I feel a little bit exhausted already here. Good thing they have water for us.  It feels wonderful to reach the 4th kilometer :)

Yay! I feel a little bit exhausted already here. Good thing they have water for us.
It feels wonderful to reach the 4th kilometer 🙂 One more to go!

Not bad for a beginner :)

Not bad for a beginner 🙂

Yay! I made it!

Yay! I made it! It feels so awesome!

Me and my brother are first timers. It was a school requirement for him. Lol! But yah, he also felt good. See his smile? It is more than a proof. :)

Me and my brother are first timers. It was a school requirement for him. Lol! But yah, he also felt good. See his smile? It is more than a proof 🙂

Certificates are good bu the experience was awesome!

Certificates are good but the experience is greatest!

We're tired but still we manage to smile. Brother + Sister Tandem :)

We’re tired but still we manage to smile.
Brother + Sister Tandem 🙂

Wooohhooo! I did it! The marathon was really a breakthrough for me. The advocacy behind it is the living spirit that sparks to everyone to run and finish the race.

I am so happy to be part of it and I would love to join some more. For me and my siblings, it was a real bonding moment. Catching up some anecdotes from each other’s life to taking pictures that we will treasure in a lifetime.

Cheers for another challenged conquered! I feel awesome!

Have you joined a marathon? How was your experience? Care to share? I would love to read from you sweeties.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

