My Top 5 Summer Treats

Standard

As my summer vacation ends tonight, I tried to reflect and I can say that this summer vacation has been the most relaxed vacation I had so far after graduating from college, three years ago.

This summer vacation of mine was filled with a lot of activities and foods to love… And I have my top 5 picks of the foods that helped me escape the summer heat.

Can you make a guess of what are those?

TOP 5- Binatog

A lot of people, even some Filipinos has no idea about this food. Binatog is a Filipino food made of native corn kernel, shreded niyog (old coconut), and your choice of either salt or sugar (I prefer the lather) or even as plain as it is.

For me, the key of this food is the creamy and rich taste coming from the boiled native corn kernels. This kind of crop is more  palatable compared to sweet corn. You will never go wrong with it!

hot or cold, with sugar or salt or just it is... still delectable!

hot or cold, with sugar or salt or just it is… still delectable!

TOP 4- Cupcakes

If you’re an avid reader of my blog, surely you already read about my review of J Cuppacakes. What makes me into these cute little pieces of cakes are its bursting color and designs.

I really wish to learn how to bake cupcakes really soon.

Colorful cupcakes... So sweet and yummy!

Colorful cupcakes… So sweet and yummy!

TOP 3- Ice Scramble

This food reminds me of my childhood days. Way back in grade school there is always a vendor staying outside the school gate selling this fun colorful cold treats.

This is composed of a scoop of ice mix with skimmed milk powder, chocolate or strawberry syrup and rice crispies. My siblings prefer to top it with marshmallows and button candy chocolates to make it look more appetizing.

Skimmed milk made this extra special. Some have colorful toppings too. But I prefer the plain and simple savor of this dessert.

Skimmed milk made this extra special. Some have colorful toppings too. But I prefer the plain and simple savor of this dessert.

TOP 2- Ice Cream

This wonderful creation is made from the finest ice cream company in the Philippines- Magnolia! It has several variants. This one is what they call as candy land which has a sweet and girly taste.

This is unquestionable :) Perfect for summer!

This is unquestionable🙂 Perfect for summer!

TOP 1- Homemade Halo-Halo

Saving myself from harm that I may get from street foods, I decided to have my own halo halo. I actually use ice cubes for this because I’m having a hard time shaving.

Halo halo is from the term halo which means “mix”. This treat is a mixture of shaved ice and evaporated milk with added ingredients such as boiled beans and sweetened fruits.

Summer should never end without this... Colorful fruit ingredients and a luscious milk flavor is the key!

Summer should never end without this… Colorful fruit ingredients and a luscious milk flavor is the key!

That’s it!

My top 5 food picks for summer🙂 How about you sweeties? What’s your best pick food for summer?

16 responses »

  1. Pingback: summer | cupcake mascara

  2. Lots of the issues you point out happens to be supprisingly legitimate and that tends to make me wonder the reason why I had not looked at this within this light previously. This piece truly did turn the light on for me as far as this particular subject matter goes. Nevertheless at this time there is really just one position I am not truly too comfy with and whilst I try to reconcile that with the core concept from the point, allow me observe just what all of the rest of the readers need to say.Nicely done.

  3. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

