A Visit to my Lola

Standard

What’s up for me this summer? I actually, intend to stay at home and chill but I cannot miss out visiting a place that I’ve been going to since I was young. The place that I am talking about is our ancestral house at Tarlac. I just have one reason why I keep on going there and it’s my Lola (grandmother).

This year, I went there with my two sisters, the oldest and the youngest (talking about how extreme their gap is). Most of the people think that they are a mother and daughter tandem because of their age difference. My older sister is 27 and my youngest sister is 7 (2o years gap! lol!) and what’s cute about them, they look like each other- a replica as they say.

Me and Elisha (my youngest sister)

Me and Elisha (my youngest sister) before going to the bus terminal.

We rode a bus going there. It was 4-5 hrs ride from Pasay which made my younger sister a little bit bored. Good thing the bus where we rode has a WiFi (wew! Yes! It was so convenient!) So there, she can play with her Ipad while we are still on the road.

Me, Elisha and Ate Aby on board

Me, Elisha and Ate Aby on board

Elisha fell asleep on our way to Tarlac.

Elisha fell asleep on our way to Tarlac.

After the bus ride we rode a tricycle gong to my dad’s home when he was young. That home was renovated already. My cousins, who are currently engineers, were the ones who designed and manage the renovation of that hose. It looks very different from the one that I’ve been to when I was a kid. I used to spend my whole summer vacation in that place which make summer feels longer. As a child, I cannot appreciate the place then as I grew up in the city but as I grew that place is always part of my rich summer memories that I love to go back to.

My tricycle ride.

My tricycle ride.

My two aunties are the ones who live there together with our lola. They are the ones who take care of her and also, manage the house. They are my dad’s sisters.

Mamang Ton with me before we go home.

Mamang Ton with me before we go home.

Me and lola :)

Me and lola🙂

My grandmother is 92 years old already. She has Alzheimer, cannot do things on her own and cannot express what she wants. She just stays on the wheeled chair or on the couch. But I know that she’s the one who holds the bind among dad’s family members very strong. She’s the reason why we keep on coming back to the place, why we pay visit every summer and do children’s party every 25th of December because of her birthday.

As a young girl, I witnessed how dad loves her mom. When he’s there, he’s always at lola’s side or doing household chores- cleaning the house, doing plumbing, fixing electrical wirings, fishing at the fishpond, manages the farm, working out legal papers. Dad is so hardworking because that’s how my lola brought him up. My dad was lola’s youngest. Dad grew up without his father. He lost him when he was 7. That’s why my dad is a true blue mama’s boy and he was never ashamed of that. He always got nice stories about lola when he was young. Dad taught us to love lola as how he loves her. He always says that we must respect and love lola because without her, we will never have a dad (which is really understandable).

This is the view outside our ancestral house.

This is the view outside our ancestral house.

My Mamang Crea Euphorbia plants. They are so colorful :)

My Mamang Crea Euphorbia plants. They are so colorful🙂

The place where the house was is a typical province a lot of plants, trees and farm animals. I think that’s why my youngest sister insisted to come with us because it is a different place compared to what she is used to.

Elisha and her niece, Kaycee. Kaycee is older than her.

Elisha and her niece, Kaycee. Kaycee is older than her.

Elisha loves pigs. lol!

Elisha loves pigs. lol!

These are some of the fruits that ate picked.

These are some of the fruits that ate picked.

I find this goat cute.

I find this goat cute.

There Elisha (our youngest) played around with her niece Kaycee. She explored the place and played with the animals as well while my Ate Aby (my older sister, who spent her first seven years at the place) did the household chores and picked up fruits from the trees around. Me? I just slept…. and took photos. lol!

We are ready to go back to Manila.

We are ready to go back to Manila.

It was such a fun weekend with my sisters, aunties and lola. Though we did not spend so much time with them, the time spent was still worth it as we were able to catch up with each other and do stuffs that we usually can’t do in the city.

How about you sweeties? Where have you been this summer? Care to share your story? Hope to read from you.

2 responses »

  1. oh my, I’m so jealous! You are able to visit your grandma :(( I haven’t.
    But I’m happy for you though sis, looks like you really have fun, and the place is so beautiful.It’s always woderful to have such family with us, something to thank for :))❤

    love lots,
    TIn
    mypoeticisolation.blogspot.com

    • Indeed! When I was much younger I didn’t appreciate the place and the people there, but now, when I am completely used to the noise of the city that place a becomes a good venue for me to reflect and appreciate nature🙂

Leave a Reply

