Food Haul at Robinson’s Magnolia (Cheat Day!)

Standard

I’ve been spending my summer vacation just strolling around the metro and finding myself at its bosom where  I am quite sure you cannot catch me at during school days. Well, that’s because I was not able to plan anything extravagant for this vacation. I just choose not to stress out myself to catch up summer packages to go around the country nor to ask my friends to have me accompanied to any of the places that they will go. Surely, all of it were my personal choice.

This summer is really unusual for me because I’m not that busy, which I found good enough to start my own blog. I did not enroll to my graduate course because the department head advised so, thinking that. “Yeah, after this vacation, I will be definitely busy with work and with my thesis.”

Anyways, before dealing with my thesis, which I decided to go about soon because I need to edit my proposal before the semester starts, I want to catch up with my friends whom I know, will be equally busy when the school year begins. Just to have a simple get together, my friendsco-officers (yeah, believe it or not, I was a student leader then) from the organization where I was affiliated during college decided to have a food trip together at one of the malls I’ve never been in Manila- Robinsons Magnolia.

Just for some quick trivia, Robinsons Magnolia is currently one of the newest malls in the country. It was opened to the public last August 13, 2012 making it as the 32nd mall by Robinsons Corporation. This can be found at Aurora Boulevard, Quezon City. The mall is part of the four-tower Magnolia Residences where the iconic Magnolia Ice Cream House once stood, thus (I think) it was named after it.

It was my first time there... so I give it my first shot.

It was my first time there… so I give it my first shot. See that smile? I think that can explain what I felt during that afternoon.

The vicinity was not that easy to reach if you are a commuter like me. I don’t own a car, but me and my friends are eager to see the place so we try to find ways. What we did is to ride two railways, LRT 1 and LRT 2- which we think the fastest way to get there. At LRT 1, me and my friend Kat rode at Vito Cruz station. But before that we met at Starbucks along Torre Lorenzo and had our refreshments to beat the summer heat.  From there, we went down at Recto station which has a junction to LRT 2. Soon, as we reached LRT 2, we rode a train going to Gilmore station. It will be just a walk away from that station, or if is really hot, like when we got there, you can ride a jeepney.

Raspberry Black Currant- very refreshing!

Raspberry Black Currant from Satrbucks- very refreshing!

Soon as we got there, we had our lunch. I was really craving for Mang Inasal (a restaurant that features a Filipino style roasted chicken) when we planned our date. Unfortunately, there was no Mang Inasal at the vicinity so we had to change plans. There we reached  the food court where I found one of the most recommended food chain by my workmate- Adobo Connection.

Adobo Connection hub at Robinsons Magnolia Foodcourt.

Adobo Connection hub at Robinsons Magnolia Foodcourt.

Adobo Connection features a variety of Filipino dish- Adobo. From chicken to pork, to fried and saucy adobo, name it, they have it! They also have their unlimited rice for a meal that is worth 99php or more. This is a marketing strategy of most of the restaurants here in the Philippines because most of Filipinos are really rice lover.

Some of their menu.

Some of their menu.

I got their Lola’s Classic Mix Adobo for my lunch. It is quite different from the home made ones because it doesn’t have extenders like potatoes or string beans. But I find it well specially the sauce. I love how the vinegar and soy sauce was infused at this particular meal. It was just too bad for me because I was so engage in tasting the viand that I was not able to take another cup of rice🙂 I would really love to have more sauce for my adobo. It was so tasty🙂 I will surely try their other meals, but maybe at one of their bigger branch.

My order- Lola's Classic Adobo Mix.

My order- Lola’s Classic Adobo Mix.

I also got a milk tea as my refreshment for lunch. I had a winter melon milk tea from Gongcha which is just also at the food court. I choose to have nata de coco or coconut jelly as an additive to my milk tea. It was proven and tested good by my sister and I’ve been trying it out many times and the taste was still the same, magnificent and really cool!

Winter Melon Tea with Cream + Coconut Jelly- Awesomely good!

Winter Melon Tea with Cream + Coconut Jelly- Awesomely good!

After that big lunch (for me), we stroll around the mall and see some boutiques in it. It is not part of our itinerary to buy something so we just did a window shopping (hehhehe…) When we gone tired of going around the mall, we went outside to go to their iconic Magnolia Ice Cream House (yehey!)

I didn’t know that there was a place like that near the mall that’s why I was really amazed seeing a “restaurant of ice cream” (As what I refer to it when I had a chit chat with my sister about what happened to my day out) I just find it really awesome seeing a place offering different ice cream courses.

Their ice cream menu

Their ice cream menu.

I am not a fan of ice cream because I am not a fan of sweet foods but the ambiance of the place really helped a lot in encouraging me to try it out. Seeing people around you eating their colorful scoops of ice creams in various platters, glasses and cones were so enjoyable! And soon, I saw myself giving in to the temptation of calories.

Ice Cream Bar

Ice Cream Bar

Their lime green chandelier adds a cool feeling to the place.

Their lime green chandelier adds a cool feeling to the place. Colors chosen for the ice cream house are well coordinated.

I love high chairs! Especially this one. The details of the ice cream house are good and perfect for chillin'

The details of the ice cream house are good and perfect for chillin’

I love high chairs! Especially this one.

I love high chairs! Especially this one.

Surprisingly, I got a very colorful ice cream course, Candyland ice cream. And as its name says, it has a lot of colorful hard candies and froot loops cereals plus, the sprinkles and cherry on top of the whip cream. Could you imagine how it taste? It taste like real frozen candies and it is extremely sweet! Kids especially the girls, will surely love to have it!

My Candyland ice cream :)

My Candyland ice cream🙂

:)

🙂

My friends, had their own orders too. All of the ice cream variants are delectable and perfect for summer. They also have their flavor of the month, which features Guimaras Mangoes and looks so attractive but it is quite pricey compared to others because it is made of the world’s known mango from Philippines.

Luchi's Double Dutch

Luchi’s Double Dutch

Black and White for Kat

Black and White for Kat

Completing the list will be Shylla's Halo-Halo top with 3 scoops of classic flavors of ice cream :)

Completing the list will be Shylla’s Halo-Halo top with 3 scoops of classic flavors of ice cream🙂

We really had a hard time finishing our orders. We even reached to the point that we want to give it up and just leave but of course we will not do that. We value our money and we want a longer bonding so we bully one of our friends, Kat to order a pizza just to even out the sweetness. Luckily, she gave in and we had our Four Cheese Pizza.

The colors can tell how sweet it its.

The colors can tell how sweet these ice creams are .

Thanks Kat for this!

Thanks Kat for this! Magnolia’s Four Cheese Pizza🙂

The Magnolia Ice Cream House doesn’t just offer ice creams, they also have burger, pasta and pizza to have a complete set of meal.

We reminisce and planned future getaways with each other over our ice cream plates. After quite sometime, we finally finished our orders and had our stomachs full. We had a few snapshots and we’re ready to go.

Luchi, RT (me), Kat and Shylla making funny faces while waiting for our orders.

Luchi, RT (me), Kat and Shylla making funny faces while waiting for our orders.

Luchi and me

Luchi and me

Kat and Shylla with me :)

Kat and Shylla with me🙂

That was an entire cheat day for my diet but I really had fun. From having my favorite refreshments to my new food explorations… Everything happened today were so precious especially because I shared it with friends that truly cares🙂

Do you Think I should be guilty with those calories I took in? Hmmm… Maybe the laughs I had paid it off. I really love cheat days… How about you?

It's a lovely afternoon!

It’s a lovely afternoon!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: My Top 5 Summer Treats | philippineartisan

Leave a Reply

